ingenuity

I’m housebound today because the hubs has my car. His is out of commission with a flat tire (which he discovered just as he was leaving for work this morning and had no time to change). I had planned to go to the grocery today to pick up a couple of things, most important of which is pita bread. We’re having mini chicken pizzas tonight, which I make on pitas. But they don’t always have them in stock at my grocery, including earlier this week when I did the shopping. So what to do? Make homemade pitas from scratch, of course!

image

In my last post I mentioned my go to bread bible: Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads which just so happens to have a recipe for pitas. They’re actually quicker and easier to make than I’d expected No long proofing times, nothing in them that I don’t always keep on hand. And they’re good!

