Sick Day

Today I woke up feeling pretty rotten. So I’ve been snuggled up on the couch all day watching junky TV and knitting.

I’m still not feeling 100%, but at least I’ve got something to show for it:

image

New socks! Socks are almost certainly my favorite knitting project, for several reasons. Firstly, socks can be knit in a countless number of ways, with almost any conceivable stitch pattern. They can be knit top-down, toe-up, with a star toe, an afterthought heel, short row heel, lace, cable, ribbed. Endless possibilities! They’re big enough not to be too fiddly on the needles, but small enough to stash in my purse as a distraction if I’m going to be waiting around, or sitting in the passenger seat on a trip.

image

This particular pair was made using the “Globe Stitch” patten in Vogue Knitting Stitchionary 2: Cables. And it’s green, which is one of my favorite colors.

So here’s to hoping my weekend goes a little better than my Friday, despite the Rapture, or Armageddon, or whatever thing they keep saying is going to happen tomorrow . If nothing else, I’ll be facing it with new socks on my feet.

