A day off

I work in a job where I sometimes have to put in Saturday hours. The good thing about it, however, is that it gives me a day off during the week. I can take the cats to the vet, make doctor & dentist appointments for myself, get my license renewed or go to the post office. (All those places that are only open during everyone else’s 8-5 work day.) I can do all of that without taking sick time, or vacation time.

But the part that is best about it, is that I can cook things that don’t fit into my busy weekday schedule. Most often I cook my mini chicken pot pies, or make cake pops for a carry-in at work. Today, I’m making chicken noodle soup from scratch. The broth is simmering now, and it fills the whole house with a delicious aroma.

What is your favorite thing to do with weekday breaks?

